skip navigation

MHCA selects 2015 award recipients

By MHCA Staff, 01/27/15, 11:45AM CST


Hall of Fame banquet slated for March 6.

At it’s fall conference, the Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association selected its award recipients for 2015.

Four people will be inducted into the MHCA Hall of Fame and four others will be honored for their contributions and accomplishments with individual awards.

Going into the hall of fame this year are Rick Alm (Minneapolis South), Carl Davis (Buffalo/Wayzata), Mark DeCenzo (Apple Valley/Hibbing) and Clayton “Bucky” Freeburg (Minneapolis Roosevelt).

Individual awards will be given to:

Cliff Thompson Award (for outstanding, long-term contributions to the sport of hockey in Minnesota)—Doug Woog, South St. Paul/University of Minnesota.

Oscar Almquist Award (given to a non-coach who has contributed to the success of high hockey by advancing opportunities for players and coaches)—Charlie Graves, Elite Prep Development League.

Dave Peterson Award (given to a high school hockey coach whose efforts have helped strengthen the bond between youth and high school hockey)—Chris Lonke, New Prague.

Bruce Johnson Award (given to an MHCA board member who has made extraordinary contributions to the association)—Steve Wasko, Two Harbors/North Shore.

The hall of fame inductions and award presentations will take place at the Association’s annual banquet, Friday, March 6, 2015, at the St. Paul River Centre, held in conjunction with the Minnesota State High School League boys’ hockey tournament and between the Class A and AA semifinal sessions.

If you wish to register to attend this year's banquet, click here.